The drama of praise

Praise the Lord.

Praise God in his sanctuary;
    praise him in his mighty heavens.
Praise him for his acts of power;
    praise him for his surpassing greatness.
Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet,
    praise him with the harp and lyre,
praise him with timbrel and dancing,
    praise him with the strings and pipe,
praise him with the clash of cymbals,
    praise him with resounding cymbals.

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.

Praise the Lord. – Psalm 150

I just feel like praising God this morning. Last night, we had the first drama team meeting after a four or five year hiatus. It was wonderful seeing the new faces, but to have the “experienced” faces come back really filled my heart. There were hugs and laughter. I asked the question of when we started drama, and I was surprised to learn it was 17 years ago … really? Wow! I know God really has a mission for this team, and I’m excited to see it all unfold. I know it will be awesome.

Praising God just feels so good. It’s the best “medicine” on the days that are hard. Although it’s easy to praise when things are going great, our faith shows brighter to praise God when we struggle. This isn’t only for the benefit of others, but it is for us. It doesn’t show what we’re made of, but what God is made of.

Prayer: Lord, I praise you this morning from the depths of my heart for your goodness to me. I pray I find moments to praise you today. Amen

Faith Tip: Read aloud the psalms of praise like Psalm 150.

2 thoughts on “The drama of praise

Leave a Reply

