Can you feel the love?

English: Traditional Devil's Food Birthday Cake

English: Traditional Devil’s Food Birthday Cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lord, what are human beings that you care for them,
    mere mortals that you think of them?
They are like a breath;
    their days are like a fleeting shadow. – Psalm 144:3-4

I remember a few years ago I was leading a meeting in Grand Rapids when a birthday cake was rolled out and everyone started singing “Happy Birthday.” I looked around and asked, “Who’s birthday is it?”

They laughed and said, “It’s yours.”

I was so touched by their thoughtfulness. Even though my birthday was a few days earlier, I didn’t think anyone would really care or remember.

Isn’t that how we see God sometimes? Why would he ever care about or remember us … we are mere mortals. We are humans that make bad choices quite a few times, so we can be frustrating to God who continually tries to lead us down the right path in life. But in his love and great patience, he cares for us always. We are never far from his thoughts. He wants us to have the best he can offer us … the best is yet to come because of his great love.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for caring about me. I pray that I can reflect your love and care to others I see today. Amen

Faith Tip: Think about the special ways God has cared for you. Now think about how you can care for others as opportunities come up. The more unexpected … the better.

One thought on “Can you feel the love?

Leave a Reply

