Gifts galore

Pile of gorgeous gifts

Pile of gorgeous gifts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Follow the way of love and eagerly desire gifts of the Spirit, especially prophecy.  For anyone who speaks in a tongue does not speak to people but to God. Indeed, no one understands them; they utter mysteries by the Spirit.  But the one who prophesies speaks to people for their strengthening, encouraging and comfort. – 1 Corinthians 14:1-3

In spiritual assessment tests, I have many times had the gift of prophecy be included in my top three gifts. Does this mean I can tell the future? No. I think a clearer understanding may be found in the dictionary. Merriam-Webster defines prophecy as: 1) an inspired utterance of a prophet; 2) the function or vocation of a prophet; specifically: the inspired declaration of divine will and purpose; and 3) a prediction of something to come. I connect more with “an inspired utterance” or “the inspired declaration” and this can be seen and heard in my writing and speaking.

The important part though is finding our gifts and using them. God gave them to us with a purpose for his kingdom. Following God means to use our gifts … I think it is sin not to use them … a sin of omission. Of course, it all rests on the condition of our hearts. Do we go grudgingly to find out and use the gift God has given us or do we run free towards the gift like on Christmas morning?

Prayer: Dear Lord, I thank you for the gifts you have given me and the opportunities to use them. I pray that I do not take them for granted. Amen

Faith Tip: If you do not know what your special gift from God is yet, seek it out today. God gave it to you with a purpose. You are blessed to be a blessing.

 

Leave a Reply

