We need only to ask

Porsche 928

Porsche 928 (Photo credit: kenjonbro)

“In that day you will no longer ask me anything. I tell you the truth, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name” (John 16:23).

When I was young, I was shy. Asking anyone I didn’t know for anything was difficult for me, which is probably why I don’t enjoy any type of sales work to this day. I think I held the belief of being unworthy to ask for anything and already accepted the negative response before it was given.

The voice of truth tells us something different. Jesus says that we are to ask God for anything in his name, and it will be given to us. That, of course, doesn’t mean that a Porsche is going to show up on the driveway if asked for, but as we pray in line with the Spirit, we will be given what our heart desires. God gives the greatest gifts to the children he loves dearly … that’s us. In fact, many times he gives us more than we ask for … the joy that fills our hearts is meant to glorify him. We needn’t be shy in showing our appreciation.

Prayer: Lord, so many things come to my mind for which I can thank you. Today, may I find ways of showing my appreciation to you. Amen

Faith Tip: What desire has God placed on your heart? Pray in boldness and watch your heavenly Father respond.

One thought on “We need only to ask

  1. We can give no greater honor to Jesus Christ than to call Him God. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Philippians 2:9-11) The word “Lord” is the Greek word kurios, it means supreme in authority, God, master. Every person will admit that Jesus Christ is Lord (God) sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

