Balk

English: Detroit Tigers pitcher .

English: Detroit Tigers pitcher . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Will you steal and murder, commit adultery and perjury, burn incense to Baal and follow other gods you have not known, and then come and stand before me in this house, which bears my Name, and say, ‘We are safe’—safe to do all these detestable things? Has this house, which bears my Name, become a den of robbers to you? But I have been watching!” declares the Lord. – Jeremiah 7:9-11

In watching the Detroit Tigers last night, the pitcher was called on a balk. I don’t totally understand what that means, but it was serious enough for the runners already on base to take another base causing the runner on third base to come home. The pitcher made some kind of movement that was deceiving in his intent to pitch the ball. Intentional or not, it was witnessed by the umpires and the consequences were devastating for the team.

Do we balk as we live our Christian life? At times, there are situations where we may feel it’s okay to do an activity, because we are saved by the blood of Jesus. While it is true we are saved by our relationship to the Lord, if we dishonor God by some of our choices, there are consequences to pay that can be terrible. When it comes to God, there are no secrets we can keep from him. He keeps a close eye on us because of his love for us.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for the way you keep us on the right road through discipline. Forgive me when I have acted like I am on my own and no one will know. I trade in that immature thinking for a grown up belief of your continual interaction in my life. Amen

Faith Tip: In all you do today, be authentic.

One thought on “Balk

Leave a Reply

