The refining of fire

 In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire… – 1 Peter 1:6–7

Tonight I will be sharing with a group of people about my cancer journey. As I think back on what I went through, I can see how the experience has sharpened my faith. My dependence and trust in God have increased, my priorities realigned, and thankfulness enlarged. Each day I am given the opportunity to share what God can do and has done in hopes that it may encourage another.

We dread going through hard times in our life, but if we can keep in mind that God has a purpose in all things. It isn’t that he causes challenges in life, but may allow them to help us grow more like Jesus. When his face shines through our tragedies, hope is given to a hurting world.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the challenges you have brought me through in life. I pray that others will see you in my faith walk and be given new hope. Amen

Faith Tip: Struggling today? Seek God for understand and how he is making you stronger and better.

2 thoughts on “The refining of fire

Leave a Reply

