Morning stretch

DSC00044

DSC00044 (Photo credit: number657)

You are my refuge and my shield; 
    I have put my hope in your word. – Psalm 119:114

Have you ever watched taffy being made? It really is neat to see how the three bars on the machine continually stretch the mass of sweetness to perfection.

There are times I feel like I am on a taffy machine being stretched in different directions all the time. I have writing projects to work on, ministry responsibilities, social media that I try to keep up with, and of course, life at home stuff. For me, the days race by quickly and I wonder if I will ever get caught up.

Our stretching has a purpose … not only does it grow us in character, but more importantly, it brings us to our knees and that’s the perfect spot where God wants us to be. Dependence on God is what makes things happen. Relying on his power in our life gives us more strength than if we depended only on ourselves. It makes life sweet.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the stretching you have done in my life. It was necessary for me to struggle and be challenged so that I can reflect your son, Jesus. Amen

Faith Tip: If you are being stretched today, be thankful for it. God is preparing you for wonderful things.

2 thoughts on “Morning stretch

Leave a Reply

