Run!

Picnic food

Picnic food (Photo credit: mhaithaca)

But he left his cloak in her hand and ran out of the house. – Genesis 39:12

I gathered with some wonderful writing friends last night at a picnic to share the great things God is doing in our writing, plus getting to know each other better, and of course eat picnic foods. There was a wonderful selection of delectable delights. Taking a little here and there, I found myself with a full plate. My eyes instantly sent the yum information to my brain which responded with spoon in hand.

Temptation is often experienced through what we see. We may think we can restrain ourselves, but why take the risk? Sometimes we need to run away from it to be protected. If we play with the temptation, often we will fall right into it and be over our heads in sin before we know it. God always provides a way out for us (1 Corinthians 10:13), but we have to choose to take it.

How do you handle temptation? Is there Scripture that speaks to you in this circumstance?

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for your provision in escaping the draw of sin. I pray that I run away from any temptation that draws me away from you. Amen

Faith Tip: Make a choice to run from temptation before it happens.

3 thoughts on “Run!

  1. Yesterday, in Sunday school, we talked about the temptation of Christ in Luke 4:1-13. I am not a huge theologian, so I wasn’t going to take the class too deep into it. I am a simple girl, with a simple mind….teaching simple teenagers, so I was good. Like I’ve said, I’m not Jeff, or Travis, or Mike…I do not get into theology. And since all the other teachers abandoned me to other things like sick beds, work, or church outreach…I was alone in teaching the Youth.

Leave a Reply

