And it’s gone!

Miguel Cabrera batting for the Detroit Tigers....

Miguel Cabrera batting for the Detroit Tigers. A. J. Pierzynski catching for the Chicago White Sox. The umpire is Ed Hickox. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” – Matthew 19:14

It was exciting to watch the Detroit Tigers play the Chicago White Sox at Comerica Park yesterday. My husband and I went along with his brother and wife. The inner child definitely came out of all of us as we watched Miguel Cabrera hit his 300th homerun along with the Tigers winning and staying in first place on the stats. I think it is the inner child showing for the players on the team as they celebrate the win … especially Fielder and Cabrera in their winning antics. I loved how most people there expressed their passion for the Tigers. Even though it was in the 90’s, the heat didn’t melt the excitement.

Taking our focus off the ballpark for a moment and refocusing on the kingdom of God. Is it the same inner child passion that we express as we encounter God? Many times it seems toned down quite a bit. What elements are melting our celebration? God wants us to be free in our passion for him and the kingdom. We can stand up and cheer; we can even do the wave, for Jesus won the game for us by hitting sin right out of the park.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for giving me experiences where I can allow my inner child to be free. I pray that I show the same excitement for all you have done and what will come in the future. Amen

Faith Tip: Grasp your inner child today and allow them to be excited.

One thought on “And it’s gone!

  1. I’m not really into ballgames, but I loved your line, “Jesus won the game for us by hitting sin right out of the park,” now I can relate to that. Thanks, Kathy.

Leave a Reply

