What do I really need?

SHOPPING FOR GROCERIES IN A WASHINGTON, DISTRI...

SHOPPING FOR GROCERIES IN A WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA SUPERMARKET – NARA – 555652 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Each morning everyone gathered as much as they needed, and when the sun grew hot, it melted away. On the sixth day, they gathered twice as much—two omers for each person—and the leaders of the community came and reported this to Moses. – Exodus 16:21-22

When I buy groceries, I think I have purchased just the right amount, but it always seems like I am throwing away food that has gone bad because my husband and I just never got around to eating that particular food. We didn’t need it.

It is amazing to think that God knows exactly what we need each day. Many times, we think we need more. There seems to be a fear of not having enough. I understand that some children who have lived in situations where there wasn’t enough food for them will continue to hide food away even when they are in a much better circumstance with plenty. They still carry the fear of being hungry.

Trusting God for our daily bread is an exercise we must practice at all times. By doing this, we will gain peace in knowing that God will supply. It may not be all that we want, but it will be exactly what we need.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for teaching me what I need differs from my wants. There is always abundance in your storehouse. Amen

Faith Tip: Notice what it is you need to survive for today. Thank God for providing for you.

3 thoughts on “What do I really need?

  1. Thank you for this article. I have been a Christian my whole life but lately have found myself losing my faith, and it is the most heartbreaking thing I have ever experienced. I am fighting it with all I am but it still seems too much sometimes. Unfortunately I am one of those people you describe who is merely “trying to believe” at this point. I will definitely bookmark this article and implement the suggestions in it. I’d do anything to have my faith again.

Leave a Reply

