What do you hear?

English: Moon

English: Moon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When the Lord called out his name for the third time, Samuel went to Eli again and said, “Here I am. What do you want?”

Eli finally realized that it was the Lord who was speaking to Samuel. So he said, “Go back and lie down! If someone speaks to you again, answer, ‘I’m listening, Lord. What do you want me to do?’”

Once again Samuel went back and lay down.

The Lord then stood beside Samuel and called out as he had done before, “Samuel! Samuel!”

“I’m listening,” Samuel answered. “What do you want me to do?” – 1 Samuel 3:8-10 CEV

I think I hear God most clearly when I go to bed. Initially, the review of the day runs through my mind, but then there’s that quiet time afterwards where my mind is still enough to listen … this is when his call is most obvious to me. Not that I don’t hear God throughout the day, but when I am most quiet is when I hear him the most. Sometimes it requires that I get out of bed and write what God has laid on my heart. At times, it is a call to pray.

It’s difficult to hear God when there’s a lot of noise going on in our lives. It takes a choice to be still and listen carefully for the voice of the Lord. It’s amazing what we hear when we do that.

God speaks to us is many ways. How do you hear God’s voice?

Prayer: I’m listening, Lord. Speak to my heart. Amen

Faith Tip: Take some time today and be still. Let God know that you’re listening.

5 thoughts on “What do you hear?

  1. Pingback: 40 Dirty Behaviours To Get Rid Off This Year By God’s Grace « bummyla

  2. What are the sounds of life that are impairing our hearing? First, there is avoidance. We can’t hear what we don’t see. By ignoring a problem or denying one that exists we simply look in another direction. Recently I heard about a woman who was remodeling her bathroom. It just happens that her mortgage company is also about to foreclose on her house. She is obviously avoiding reality. She is not listening.

  3. Pingback: 120709–George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal–Monday | George Hach's Blog

  4. People saw Jesus make the blind see, the lame walk, and even raise the dead. Some believed and followed him, some said he was possessed by demons, and some wanted him killed. God can show me all the signs in the world, but whether or not I choose to believe is still in the realm of my free will. God can speak to my heart, but I have to first; have my heart open to hear him, and second; choose to listen.

  5. You see this logic all the time in inspirational literature and hear it every Sunday at thousands of churches: “God loves you! God hears your prayers and will answer them for you!” See this article for an example. Yet, for some reason, miracles never happen when it comes to regenerating lost limbs. It does not seem to make sense that amputees would be cut off from the blessings that Jesus promises in the Bible. And it also does not mesh with all of the prayers that Jesus seems to be answering for other people.

Leave a Reply

