You want what?

English: Outdoor seating area - Sussex Street ...

English: Outdoor seating area – Sussex Street Part of Tatties restaurant. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jesus stopped and called them. “What do you want me to do for you?” he asked.

Lord,” they answered, “we want our sight.”

Jesus had compassion on them and touched their eyes. Immediately they received their sight and followed him. – Matthew 20:32-34

Sitting down at a table at a restaurant the other day and being handed a menu, I began to peruse the choices. Everything looked good and I found it difficult to choose. The server wanted to bring me what I wanted, but was unable to do so until I made a choice. If she brought me something I didn’t want, I wouldn’t appreciate it as much. It’s important for me to know what I want.

It’s also important for us to know what we want from God. It’s not that he doesn’t already know, but we need to understand what we want and why we want it. God is not ready to take our order and serve us as we desire, but is there to give us the best. Most times, we don’t know what the best is, but if we pray for God’s most excellent in our lives, and seek to know what God wants, we know what to ask from him. He will respond … perhaps not in the way we imagine, but it will be good.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for being my great provider. I know I can look to you for all my needs. I pray that I discern what it is I want from you and understand why I want it and discern why you sometimes say no. Amen

Faith Tip: What do you want God to do for you today? Why do you want that?

4 thoughts on “You want what?

  1. What do I want Him to do today….hmmm I could say “To get everything done” but that’s not REALLY what I want…I want to enjoy the day, for my daughter to take good naps (she’s 8 months old), to bring joy to my husband, glory to God…and I reallly really want to spend good time with Him!

    Do you ever feel ashamed when you ask God for things? Sometimes I do…like “Why should I ask God for this? I should be able to do it on my own!”

    So glad I found your blog! I love seeing what others are hearing from God in their lives too!

    • Hi Jennifer,

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! God wants to know what’s on your heart, so coming to him for anything I believe is good.

      Blessings on your day!

      Kathy

Leave a Reply

