Staying on track

English: Jogging with dog at Carcavelos Beach ...

Joshua said to the people, “You are not able to serve the Lord. He is a holy God; he is a jealous God. He will not forgive your rebellion and your sins. If you forsake the Lord and serve foreign gods, he will turn and bring disaster on you and make an end of you, after he has been good to you.”

But the people said to Joshua, “No! We will serve the Lord.”

Then Joshua said, “You are witnesses against yourselves that you have chosen to serve the Lord.”

Yes, we are witnesses,” they replied. – Joshua 24:19-22

There are times when I am very strong and focused on a goal such as healthy living. I am eating fruit and veggies, exercising, and doing whatever I can at the moment to be healthy. Then there are other times. I may have had a challenging day and all my focus goes down the tube and I want something that I perceive will satisfy my needs … usually having to do with ice cream and pizza.

The Israelites had a passion, just like we do, to worship and serve God. There are times when we have it all together and can be focused on the goal. Then there are other times. Our humanness takes over when life gets challenging and we lose our focal point of the way we were going. Somehow we get off-track in following God by going after distractions of the world.

God knows our weakness. Our creator has provided a way to get back on track and continue the journey. His name is Jesus.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for helping me get back on track when I journey down my own road. Your way is always better. Amen

Faith Tip: What road are you on today and who are you following? Do you need to be refocused? God will help you … just ask.

2 thoughts on “Staying on track

  1. Thanks, Kathy, for a great reminder of where our focus needs to be, and to know that when we get off track, we can get back on again for a fresh start.

  2. Thanks. This is a reminder to me of how simple my life can be. The answer is not a new device or a new system. The answer to my drift is focusing on Jesus. I have missed my meditation times and this was a good reminder to me.

Leave a Reply

