A simple wave

Uzbek kids wave hello

But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. – Luke 18:16

The 5th graders were lined up and walking into the gymnasium filled with friends and family. I saw my student walk in. He seemed surprised to see me, in fact, almost tripping over the student in front of him. He smiled widely; you know the kind that involves all parts of the face.  He gave a little wave as he made his way up to the front with the other children. I waved back.

As a Kids Hope mentor, I was sitting in the front row designated for our group. He waved at me from where he sat … a shy little wave. I waved back. While awards were announced, his name was called for one, and I clapped as he stood up being recognized.  I realized his parents were unable to make it to the graduation and I was the one to receive his waves and wave back.

All of us need someone to wave to … someone that we know is supportive of us and cheering us on. Especially children need this as they are growing wondering who they are and what they can become. I remember when Kids Hope began, a principal at a school said in an attempt to show the great need of many students, that if a mentor would simply stand at the fence while children played and waved at one, it would make a difference.

Jesus is in our corner, watching, perhaps waving, and cheering us on. He surrounds us with his love and support, so that we can love and support others.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for being there for me and sending people into my life for love and support. I pray that I can pay it forward when given the opportunity. Amen

Faith Tip: Is there someone you know of that needs support and encouragement? Show them the love of Christ.

 

2 thoughts on “A simple wave

Leave a Reply

