Ridding your residence

Feather duster, dustpan and broom, and upright...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When Aaron has finished making atonement for the Most Holy Place, the tent of meeting and the altar, he shall bring forward the live goat.  He is to lay both hands on the head of the live goat and confess over it all the wickedness and rebellion of the Israelites—all their sins—and put them on the goat’s head. He shall send the goat away into the wilderness in the care of someone appointed for the task.  The goat will carry on itself all their sins to a remote place; and the man shall release it in the wilderness. – Leviticus 16:20-22

When I clean house, it always feels good to get it done, but I always wonder about the dust. I would dust one week and the next week it would be back laying on the tables, picture frames and figurines. I just got rid of it! I wish there was a way it could permanently leave.

When we look into our own lives and “clean house” on ourselves, we find things that we thought we got rid of laying around our heart and soul. This kind of dust can be cleaned away permanently with Jesus. Those bad thoughts, harsh words, non-caring actions and other parts of us that do not honor God need to be cleaned out. Laying those things on the cross and allowing Jesus to carry them away is real. He will do it. Don’t allow the dust to take over your life.

Prayer: God, I thank you for providing a way that I can rid of sin in my life. Jesus is the way to clean it out of my house. I pray that your Spirit will show me where the dust is in my house and help me clean it out. Amen

Faith Tip: Check your temple for any cleaning that needs to be done. Allow God to do it.

Leave a Reply

