Complaining again?

Photo of a typical refrigerator with its door ...

Photo of a typical refrigerator with its door open. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The whole Israelite community set out from Elim and came to the Desert of Sin, which is between Elim and Sinai, on the fifteenth day of the second month after they had come out of Egypt. In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.” – Exodus 16:1-3

“There’s nothing to eat.” How many times have we heard or thought that as we look for something to prepare for dinner? It’s not that the cupboards and refrigerator are bare, but just what we want to eat isn’t there, or perhaps the preparation feels like too much after a busy day. We complain about what we don’t have instead of seeing and appreciating what we do have.

I remember feeling like this a day before going grocery shopping. I felt like there was nothing to make for dinner, but when I really looked at what I had, I found rice, beans, frozen meat to be thawed and carrots and celery. It was plenty of items for a great meal using wonderful spices. It was a feast. I just needed to focus on what I had rather than didn’t have.

Our spiritual life can be like that, too. We journey through life thinking we don’t have enough and we need more to be happy and successful. That is not the message of God. He knows exactly what we need and provides it. If we concentrate on what we have in our life, we may be surprised of all the ways we are blessed.

Prayer: Forgive me, Lord, when I don’t acknowledge the blessings you have given me. I pray that I recognize them and keep focused on them so that I don’t fall into the complaining pit. Amen

Faith Tip: Make a list of the ways you are blessed and thank God for them.

Leave a Reply

