What’s that burning over there?

Moses before the Burning Bush

Moses before the Burning Bush (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 When the Lord saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush,“Moses! Moses!”

And Moses said, “Here I am.” – Exodus 3:4

For me, one of the good things that came out of having cancer was an awareness of the need of others who suffer. Being a part of the cancer community became a call to work in supporting others who are or have dealt with it. The cancer was my burning bush.

God sends many burning bushes to us throughout our life when he wants to get our attention to invite us to join him in his work. So many times, we are distracted by what’s going on around us that we sadly miss the large flaming shrub that should be so obvious to us.

Consider the burning bushes in your life that called you to action. How were you blessed? What did you learn about God and yourself? The important part of seeing a burning bush is our response. Like Moses, will we say “Here I am”?

Prayer: Lord, you are doing so many things at the same time that I can’t fully understand how you do that. I am so thankful for the burning bushes you place in my life knowing that you want me to join you in some work. I pray I may say, “Here I am, Lord.”

Faith Tip: Today, keep an eye open for a burning bush. God may be calling you for something special.

 

4 thoughts on “What’s that burning over there?

  1. Thanks, Kathy. I never considered cancer a “Burning Bush,” but that’s a good way to think of it, and it certainly got my attention.

  2. Amen, I too have felt that cancer was a blessing and caused me to change my way of looking at the world around me. God does use many different tools to draw us closer and prepare us, and how much better when we respond with a resounding Here I Am, Lord!

  3. Our burning bush is the Divorce of our son and his wife. We ask the question “why” when there are three little victims. With faith we will make it through. thanks for being there Kathy.

    • I’m so sorry to hear about your son and his family. That is really a rough journey to go through. Praise God for your faithfulness in holding on to Jesus and being there for your family.

Leave a Reply

