Big time wrestling

Wrestler pose

Wrestler pose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So Jacob was left alone, and a man wrestled with him till daybreak. When the man saw that he could not overpower him, he touched the socket of Jacob’s hip so that his hip was wrenched as he wrestled with the man. Then the man said, “Let me go, for it is daybreak.”

But Jacob replied, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”

The man asked him, “What is your name?”

“Jacob,” he answered.

Then the man said, “Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel, because you have struggled with God and with humans and have overcome.” – Genesis 32:24-28

I’m afraid I don’t understand the thrill of big time wresting on television. I watched it once, and it seemed so fake to me like staged entertainment of violence. I don’t get it. Would their awards be for best entertainer? I know there is skill in wrestling as it is a sporting event in schools, so how does it get from the actual sport to the media blitz of the WWE it has become?

Real wrestling, as in wrestling with God, has a great outcome. It’s tough to struggle with the spiritual issues we come across, but in the struggling we see God face-to-face. The wrestling in itself is a choice to bring God into the equation. As we struggle, we learn more about God and his ways which helps us come to the end of the struggle and see the issue as God sees it. That’s what it takes to be a champion.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to wrestle with you. I pray that I don’t run from this, but partake in it even though it is painful. There will be victory. Amen

Faith Tip: Is there a spiritual issue that is a constant nagging in your life? Allow yourself to wrestle with God about it. Be brave in working it through and discover how God sees it.

 

One thought on “Big time wrestling

  1. Love this! Spiritual issues, behavioral issues, I wrestle with so much. It all comes down to (for me) 2 things: faith and surrender. I believe enough not to let God go, and surrender to Him (tap out) when He asks me to. Love the analogies here. Not a huge TV wrestling fan, but such a big fan of God and His favor! Great post! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

