God’s powerful anointing

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor. – Isaiah 61:1

If you would have told me twenty years ago that I would be writing and speaking, I would have laughed. Yes, I enjoyed writing, but doing it professionally seemed out of reach. As far as speaking in public, I did only when absolutely necessary … and then took a nap for the anxiety would wear me out. 

God had a plan for me to develop these skills to use for his glory. I have been anointed to proclaim the good news of Jesus to the “poor.” Not poor materially, but perhaps poor in spirit, discouraged, frustrated, or lost. I do not do this on my own power for this would be empty and useless. It is the Spirit of the living God that empowers me to share.

We all have been given a message about God to share with others. It may not be in front of a crowd or published, but it may be over a cup of coffee or in a small group. The anointing is the same. Allowing God to speak through us is powerful and will touch hearts and minds. We can be used to bring people closer to the Lord and help them journey in life with their burdens lightened. Trust God to do this.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the wonderful way you have worked through me. I know it is only by your hand that all things are possible. Obedience is the key and I pray I always say yes to you. Amen

Faith Tip: Today, make the commitment to allow God to speak through you to someone who needs encouragement. 

5 thoughts on “God’s powerful anointing

  1. Pingback: What Will You Do Today? « Lifestyles of the Queenly and Confident

Leave a Reply

