Lessons in trust

Narrow lane carved through steep rock bank A d...

Narrow lane carved through steep rock bank A dark tunnel on this sunny summer’s day. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. – Romans 12:12

When I am going through a struggle, such as when I had cancer, a verse like this would speak to me even in the darkest times. I could be joyful, because no matter how it ended up I had the hope of Jesus. It was a win-win situation. Patience was hard as I went through treatments, saw many doctors, and took numerous medications and kept track of them. I was so tired most of the time, but also was being taught more about how to wait on the Lord. Prayer helped me through it all as I spoke my heart to God knowing he was listening, cared and acted. All of this was neatly bundled in trust. I grew in my trust of the Lord through the journey and continue to learn to trust him. 

The lessons of trusting God don’t stop until we’re face to face with Jesus. We can be glad that they don’t, because many of us don’t fully get it the first, second or even third time around. We constantly need to be shown and reminded of God’s control over all things. His power is more than enough for anything we are going through. Lean on Jesus releasing your struggle to him … this is not showing weakness, but wisdom.

Prayer: Your strength and love, Lord, are more than I can imagine. I thank you for helping me through times of darkness. I pray that I learn to trust you more today. Amen

Faith Tip: Your challenges come and go, express your joy in Jesus in some way meaningful to you.

2 thoughts on “Lessons in trust

  1. Great post, Kathy. But it’s funny, because it’s the same thing I’m writing about for my next post.
    Maybe God’s trying to tell us to “Trust Him,” again.

Leave a Reply

