Hang on to the rope

Climber repelling Rooster Rock in the Menageri...

Climber repelling Rooster Rock in the Menagerie Wilderness, Willamette National Forest. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. – James 1:2-4


It always amazes me when I speak to someone who has been through so many trials, and yet has a beautiful disposition. The people I interview many times have a story to tell, but usually it is on the other side of a challenging time in their life. Whether it is the death of someone close, substance abuse, physical abuse, health issues or other, the journey is the story. 

It would be easy to succumb to the trials and become weary and bitter if we lean on our own strength. This is not to say that Christians do not struggle or are lost at parts of their journey, but I do think that God continually reaches out to impart his strength in those who are hurting. It’s grabbing on to the rope God tosses us and pulls us out of the pit. This takes a step of faith … especially at those times when nothing makes sense. To God, it makes perfect sense and the work he is doing in each one of us is producing a beautiful and strong servant of the Lord who looks a bit like Jesus.

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for the work you do in my heart. I pray that I will not succumb to what the world brings, but to rely on my faith in you for getting me through the challenges in life stronger and better than before. Amen

Faith Tip: Are you struggling today? If not, you most likely will be soon. Look to God for direction. Stand on the foundation of faith to help you persevere.  

2 thoughts on “Hang on to the rope

  1. Oh i love this! Found it procrasitnating, I dont now if that counts as struggling, but in my part it does. I have hectic tests coming soon and it really did offer me some comfort. Bless you Kathy!

Leave a Reply

