What do you need today?

Bread

Bread (Photo credit: ulterior epicure)

Give us today our daily bread. – Matthew 6:11

When I woke up this morning, I had some needs in my mind to start my day. The smell of coffee brewing helped the process get started. Taking a bit of time to do some knitting on a pair of socks for a special lady seems to bring balance also. I also like to have granola with applesauce and cinnamon … it’s kind of like having apple crisp without all the fat.

Each of us has different ideas of what we need each day. Our preferences differ, which makes sense as we are created uniquely. However, there is one need we each have every day that can only be filled in one way … God.

The void inside of us that is made only for God is satisfied only by his presence. We know there is something inside that makes us want to “worship” something. Many times, we choose the wrong object and find the hole in us still lacking fulfillment. It’s when we build on our relationship with the Lord that contentment is felt. Reading God’s word and praying to him allows us to grow in relating with him. That’s the need we each have every day. Break off a piece of God’s daily bread and be nourished.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for your daily provision for me, but especially for your interaction in my life that fills my cup to overflowing. I pray that I can look away when other sparkly gems of temptation catch my eye from the world. I know they do not bring contentment, but only frustration. Amen

Faith Tip: Realize your daily need for God’s bread, and eat of it.

One thought on “What do you need today?

Leave a Reply

