Pinochle anyone?

Pinochle meld

Pinochle meld (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I seek you with all my heart;
   do not let me stray from your commands.
I have hidden your word in my heart
   that I might not sin against you. – Psalm 119:10-11

I love playing pinochle. Although it is partly fortunate in getting the right cards, I love the strategy needed to win. Each player hides the value of their cards from the others as they plan their future playing of their cards. It takes 150 points to win the game. If a player has acquired a double run, which is two of each card in the same suit that is trump, they receive 150 points and it is the end of the game. They win by the power of their cards hidden in their hand. I have never experienced this, but know it is possible.

The battle against sinning each day can be won with the power that is hidden inside of us … in our hearts. As we plan what our response and attitudes will be during the day (we try anyway), we can make the commitment to follow Jesus during the day by hiding his word in our hearts and minds. Reminders of who God is, who we are to God, how we should live, and so much more is given to us by the Author who wants us to have all the truth he has established throughout time so that we will live a joyful and victorious life. With Jesus, we can win.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for your wonderful truth that applies to my life on a daily basis. I pray that I consider your word, mull over it, and stockpile it in my heart so I may live triumphant in you. Amen

Faith Tip: Read or listen to the truth of God for you today. Consider the power of that word in your life.

Leave a Reply

