Living against the norm

backwards man / grimshaw

backwards man / grimshaw (Photo credit: lukemontague)

Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

“Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. – John 12:23-27

Going against the normal in life is hard. It’s difficult for our mind to grasp something foreign to our everyday beliefs and actions. I remember in high school there was a day where we could do things backwards or be crazy looking. On that day, wearing clothes inside out or backwards was considered normal. Mismatched socks were popular that day along with a pig-tail on one side and not the other. This was fun and all done for the purpose of raising spirit for the school that day.

Jesus tells us that going against the normal in the world is the right thing to do. Ideas such as hating our life so that we can keep it or being a servant will bring honor. In fact, Jesus demonstrates that by his dying, many are saved. These are not the messages of the world which include getting the gusto from life, climbing the ladder to the top, and other self-serving beliefs which surround us. His message is foreign. Yet we see that the purpose of his message is to increase the building of the faith of those who follow him. Every day is Spirit Day.

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the precious gift you gave us of your life to save us. I pray that I take hold today of your words that encourage me to live differently than what the world says is normal. Amen

Faith Tip: Go against the world’s sense of normal today and show the difference Jesus can make.

One thought on “Living against the norm

Leave a Reply

