Move It! Move It! Move It!

exercising on Benidorm beach

exercising on Benidorm beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do. – James 1:22-25

I collect different exercise articles like most people collect recipes. The exercises look doable. I know the importance of moving. I always feel better after exercising. So why don’t I keep at it? I find myself working at the computer for three or four hours and then remembering I should get up and walk. I am a bit stiff at this point. I continue to remind myself I need to move.

Perhaps this is what happens in our Christian walk. We know the truth. We read about what we should and shouldn’t do. Somehow as each day passes, we reflect on lost opportunities to follow Jesus. Eight hours of work goes by, dinner time, TV time, activities and more. There is a lot to do each day. We have to make a conscious effort, preferably before the day starts, to follow the Christ. Keeping the image of Jesus in our minds and hearts will help us remember. It truly is a blessing to be doing what God has called us to do.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for the ways you remind me to follow you. It is always a blessing. I pray that I will not forget your call and follow obediently. Amen

Faith Tip: Feeling forgetful? Don’t let it drag you down. Just pick up the Word of God and be refreshed and go and do. God’s there to help you accomplish more than you can imagine for his glory.

Leave a Reply

