The High Value of Peace

peace dove

peace dove (Photo credit: Jeff Attaway)

While they were still talking about this, Jesus himself stood among them and said to them, “Peace be with you.” – Luke 24:36

Peace seems to be hard to come by. Some of the methods I use are to walk on the beach, exercise, listen to soft music, aromatherapy, eat chocolate, talk to a friend, and other ways to ease the stresses of life. Peace is important to me. Not only do I want it, but I want others to have it. In a world of unrest, there is always a need for peace that I can find.

Jesus knew it was important to have peace. It is the first words he says to the disciples upon appearing to them. They were basically hiding from the world after Jesus was crucified for they didn’t have peace. It was when he stood among them that they began to have their hearts settle down a bit.

It’s the same for us. It takes the presence of Jesus in our lives to give us peace. It is there for the taking. Look for it, ask for it, embrace it, and don’t let go. It is a very valuable gift.

Prayer: Lord, your peace at times feels distant to me, and I know that’s because of my focus and belief. I pray that your peace reigns in my life and that the evidence of your peace in my life will encourage another. Amen

Faith Tip: Tear yourself away from focusing on a struggle you are experiencing and stare into the eyes of Jesus.

2 thoughts on “The High Value of Peace

  1. Thanks for the wonderful post, Kathy. Love your faith tip, Tear yourself away from focusing on a struggle you are experiencing and stare into the eyes of Jesus. That is certainly the only way to peace.

Leave a Reply

