The Prize Inside

A picture of an old Cracker Jack box

Image via Wikipedia

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. – 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

I remember as a child looking at all the cereal boxes at the grocery store to see which box held the greatest prize inside. I was also enticed by the prize in Cracker Jack. Grab bags were fun, too. I never knew what my prize would be inside the bag. Although all these prizes were fun, the thrill was gone soon after. They would usually end up in the junk drawer never to be thought of again.

We have a prize that is always in front of us … Jesus. This prize is alive and makes a difference in our lives now and forever. Following the model of Jesus is a workout that will strengthen us for the race we run. The crown we receive at the finish line we can give to the one who upheld us throughout the journey. In victory, we are embraced by the Master who whispers in our ear, “Well done good and faithful servant.”

Prayer: Dear Jesus, today you are my prize I strive for that will never rust or get moldy. You are always fresh and alive in me. I thank you for the race we run together that makes it all worthwhile. Amen

Faith Tip: Today you are in training. Keep your eyes focused on Jesus as you strength train.

One thought on “The Prize Inside

  1. The victorious believer in Jesus must be disciplined in prayer, worship, praise, fasting, and reading of the Word of God, so that he/she is saturated with the wisdom and power of God to perform optimally at almost every hour.

Leave a Reply

