Waiting is Hard

English: Hourglass Deutsch: Sanduhr

Image via Wikipedia

I remain confident of this: 
I will see the goodness of the LORD
in the land of the living.
Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD. – Psalm 27:13-14

I have learned a lot about waiting as a writer. Once I have finished an article or book and send them to a publisher, I begin waiting for their response. Their reply may come soon or it may be months. It would be really hard for me to wait if I focused only on the project I sent. I wouldn’t be able to do much of anything else if I kept thinking about the work sent in. I have learned to keep working on other projects knowing that God has more for me to do.

Waiting on the Lord can be difficult for us, too, especially in times of struggle. If we focus on the struggle, it’s hard for us to do anything else because our heart, mind and soul are filled with the hardship. However, if we choose to focus on God and his goodness, it opens up a way to be strong and joyful. God is always at work and will bring us through the challenges in life. Learning to wait may be one of the purposes of the struggles we experience as we become more confident in God.

Prayer: Lord, the struggles I experience are difficult and I am so glad you are there to help me through them. I pray that I learn from them and become confident in trusting your way. Amen

Faith Tip: Whatever struggles you are experiencing today, don’t focus on them, but on God and start praising him. You will be amazed at how your confidence will grow as you remember how he carried you throughout your life.

One thought on “Waiting is Hard

  1. We want to busy ourselves with things that aren’t necessary. We don’t want to sit still.
    The only thing God wants us to be busy about is in searching for Him.
    Thanks for this post and have a blessed weekend Kathy.
    Vince

Leave a Reply

