Giving Hope to a Child

English: Air Force Tech. Sgt. Josh A. Sallee, ...

Image via Wikipedia

 “But also look ahead: I’m sending Elijah the prophet to clear the way for the Big Day of God—the decisive Judgment Day! He will convince parents to look after their children and children to look up to their parents. If they refuse, I’ll come and put the land under a curse.” – Malachi 4:5-6

One thing I have learned over the years of mentoring children is that there are problems in families. I’m sure this is not a surprise to anyone since we are born into a sinful nature, but I always hope that relationships can get better in families. I can’t control this; I can only encourage.

It is evident that we are living the curse of the sinful nature. We see children suffering through drugs, sex, crime, and more. There is always hope because of Jesus. The children see Jesus as we who are his temple walk into the schools to spend time with them. This gives them hope. It may be the only Jesus they see.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for allowing me to show who you are to the children. I pray that I always put you in front of me for all to see.

Faith Tip: Is there an opportunity you know of to show Jesus to a child? Let the Lord lead you in the call.

Leave a Reply

