The Foot Message

English: A pedicure in progress.

Image via Wikipedia

“No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.”

Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” – John 13:8

I remember getting my first pedicure and thinking, how could anyone like doing this job? The woman that took care of my feet did such a wonderful job in such a caring way. The experience of having a pedicure truly made an impact on me to wash others’ feet. But how would I have felt if the Queen of England came in to wash my feet? It would be hard not to jump out of the chair and offer it to her and begin washing hers. She is the Queen after all.

We have an idea of how Peter felt when Jesus washed the disciples’ feet. Jesus was his Master, Teacher and Savior. Peter’s first reaction was to jump out of the chair and offer it to Jesus, but Jesus had a deeper purpose than just the task itself. The loving service he was modeling for them gave a perfect image of how they were to give loving service to others. They were to take on the role of a servant just as Jesus did to show impacting love that will multiply from one life to another.

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for giving me this example on how to serve others with your love and compassion. I pray that I can be part of the process of multiplying this servant attitude. Amen

Faith Tip: Today, make it a priority to serve someone taking on the role of a servant … just like Jesus.

 

2 thoughts on “The Foot Message

Leave a Reply

