Heavy Living

My tired kitty.

Image via Wikipedia

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

Monica looked at the clock … midnight again, and she was still folding laundry while her children slept. She worked during the day, so any house cleaning had to wait until the kids were in bed. The only time they had to talk about their day and generally share life was the few scant hours between dinner and bedtime, and she treasured that time with them. Since the divorce, Monica wanted to make sure they didn’t miss out on parenting time or feel they weren’t secure. She was tired.

Holding the whole world on our shoulders can be quite the burden. Our “fix it” mentality goes into overdrive and we give it all we got to make it work. There is a better way … Jesus. Jesus wants to be part of the process; in fact, He wants to be CEO of it. What do we fear in giving him control? That it won’t be done the way we want it? That He won’t be able to handle it? Perhaps we will not feel needed and lack purpose. Putting on the yoke of Jesus means to put to sleep the burden we feel and experience peace.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for the yoke you offer to me today. I pray that I will take it, put it on and relish in the peace meant for me. Amen

Faith Tip: Do you have a heavy burden today? Your choice is to either hang onto that yoke and use all your energy, or trade it in for a better model.

4 thoughts on “Heavy Living

  1. Thank you…. I heard God’s message to me very clearly and I realized I was holding a very very large burden that never ever belonged to me in the first place. It always was and always will be God’s. I’m just “one” of many He is using to fulfill His plan.

  2. Thank you, Kathy.

    God spoke to me through your message. I need to give my burden to Him, again, and learn to just leave it there. I’m getting tired of trying to handle it myself, although it’s hard to admit that’s what I’m doing. Thanks for the great reminder.

Leave a Reply

