One Thing After Another…

Original caption: I decided to see if I could ...

Image via Wikipedia

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. – James 1:2-3

I remember a party we had at the church where we played board games. The popular game of the evening was dominoes. I had never played before and just loved it. I was hooked. I remember playing with dominoes as a child – standing them up in interesting shapes so that when I hit the first one down, it would knock the next one down and so on until it went through the whole design. The term “the domino effect” means how one thing affects another.

We as Christians have experienced those days when it seemed that we were standing in line to be knocked down. One thing after another would go wrong and we sometimes wonder when it will end. When will we experience the peace we seemed to have just a short time ago?

We can experience the peace now. The transforming moment of dread to joy happens when we make the choice to “consider it pure joy.” God is working … all the time. He has not left the building, but stays close to His walking temple. You are being strengthened beyond what you can imagine for yourself. It is through the pain that we will gain and persevere.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for not leaving me to fend for myself when troubles arise. I pray that I can make that choice today of peace … Your peace that passes understanding. Amen

Faith Tip: Feeling anxious about something in your life? Stop the worried thought process and begin the God-thinking process of the victory you will experience at the other end.

Leave a Reply

