Going up?

Willie Nelson became one of the most popular c...

Image via Wikipedia

I am worn out from my groaning. All night long I flood my bed with weeping and drench my couch with tears. My eyes grow weak with sorrow; they fail because of all my foes. – Psalm 6:6-7

I’ve heard (sarcastically) a country song lists everything that is wrong in a person’s life from losing a job to losing a loved one, and that’s why they are depressed, alcoholic, drug user, etc. While it is true that hard things happen in peoples’ lives, it doesn’t give the right to remain on the cycle of sorrow throughout their lives blaming factors they feel give them the license to give up.

There is a time to mourn and grieve, but there is also a time to pick up and go on. God has not meant for us to lead a life of failure, but to have an abundant life. The key is in what we are following. Do we walk towards what the world says, or do we trust in what God says?

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the guidance your Word gives to me. I pray that those times I feel like giving up that I will trust in what you say. Amen

Faith Tip: Have you been using a situation in your life for quite awhile as an excuse for your behavior? It’s time to bring that to a close and open up a life of freedom and purpose.

Leave a Reply

