Be Empowered

Ice Cream dessert

Image via Wikipedia

For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. – Romans 7:18-19

I am an emotional eater. I know this and as my work commitments climb, so does my desire to consume. Even though these job opportunities are good, there is a pressure to accomplish them. It is not good to eat any food that is within arm’s length that I perceive offers comfort when in truth it adds to the dilemma of keeping my weight at a healthy spot. I have those moments when I consume the brownies and ice cream, the donuts, etc. and then afterwards regret the choice. I know it is not the right choice, but I find myself there time and again.

The truth is that God has given us a way out. Through the empowering of the Holy Spirit, we can do what is right, if we choose to allow God to take over. The many choices we have each day can be good if we don’t give in to our flesh. Victorious living is ours if we choose it.

Prayer: Thank you, God, for the promise of your Holy Spirit. I pray that I allow you to take over in my life rather than my humanness. Amen

Faith Tip: Are you struggling with doing the right thing in a situation today? Find a promise of God that will give you strength and keep it in your heart and mind.

Leave a Reply

