Is the Branch Dead or Alive?

Example of old vine branch with ripening grape...

Image via Wikipedia

 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. – John 15:1-2

As I think about what I have accomplished last year, there are things that I put a lot of energy and time into, but they really didn’t seem to make a difference. I had to evaluate what seemed to have a purpose and what didn’t. The things that didn’t, I have decided to discontinue and give more of myself to the things that do. Sometimes it is a painful process to let go of things, but it helps to know that “more fruit” will come from the things I will be more focused on.

Our Christian life is like that. Our purpose is for the kingdom, just like Jesus’ was. Letting go of the things we do that do not benefit the kingdom of God can be a painful process. We must realize that even though it hurts, the things we will do for the God will bear more fruit. It is promised.

Prayer: Lord, help me to let go of things that are of no benefit to you or your kingdom. Thank you for the opportunities to bear more fruit. Amen

Faith Tip: Evaluate all you did last year. What kept you busy? Where did you invest your time and energy? How did it benefit the kingdom? Prune where needed.

 

Leave a Reply

