Can You Hear Me Now?

Sheep looking

Image via Wikipedia

The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.” – John 10:2-5

I met with a wonderful lady this morning at the coffee shop who leads an organization in this part of Michigan and we talked about the possibilities of helping each other serve other people. It was amazing as we shared our stories of how we came to where we are now. We seemed to bond in the purpose of serving. She even asked me about becoming more involved in the organization. With my schedule, my first response normally is feeling I don’t have time, but as she spoke, I felt that the possibilities were very good and I started seeing vision in those possibilities. For me, that is how I know God is calling.

Knowing God’s voice is so important in the Christian life for the plans and purposes he has for us are mostly received through reading the Bible, praying and talking with others. If that is not a normal part of our life, most likely we will miss the call. If his voice is strange to us, we may want to flee rather than follow. Knowing and trusting the voice we hear will bring abundant blessings to not only us, but others.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for calling me. I love to hear your voice and follow the plans you have for me. I pray that I can continue in learning more about you and your ways through delving in your Word, praying to you, and seeing with your eyes. Amen

Faith Tip: Do you know when God is calling you? If so, expand on that by seeking more of God. If not, work on your relationship with God through Bible reading and prayer.

Leave a Reply

