Make Yourself at Home

Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full. – John 15:9-11

Driving directions are very valuable to me. Being directionally challenged, I have a GPS which tells me when and where to turn to get to my destination. This takes a lot of pressure off of me and makes the journey more enjoyable.

Our Christian life is like that. If we are unsure of what to do and when, we move cautiously and in our own understanding, which can take joy out of life. Jesus gives us clear directions. We are to abide in his love. A better understanding of abiding is given in The Message where it is written to “make ourselves at home.” Let us lounge in the love of God. This will help us follow Jesus with openness and joy.

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for the clear direction you gave me. I pray that I will make myself at home with you and sit at your feet to learn and obey. I do this because I love you. Amen

Faith Tip: Take some time today to be at home with God. That is where the relationship grows between you and God.Image

2 thoughts on “Make Yourself at Home

  1. What I clearly remember when I was about twenty two years of age, I petitioned God that he would not let me be deceived in my understanding about the Kingdom of God. He has answered that petition, and as I look back I would be telling a lie if I said he has let me go astray. He has not. I thank God for that. My journey with Jesus has been for fifty years and in spite of Satan’s attempt to eliminate me and my own stupidity I thank him for keeping me on the correct path in spite of what has happened to me over the years even August 2009.

Leave a Reply

