What Do You Like?

What’s important in all this is that if you keep a holy day, keep it for God’s sake; if you eat meat, eat it to the glory of God and thank God for prime rib; if you’re a vegetarian, eat vegetables to the glory of God and thank God for broccoli. None of us are permitted to insist on our own way in these matters. It’s God we are answerable to—all the way from life to death and everything in between—not each other. That’s why Jesus lived and died and then lived again: so that he could be our Master across the entire range of life and death, and free us from the petty tyrannies of each other. – Romans 14:6-9 The Message

I remember a song from The Sound of Music with a line, “These are a few of my favorite things.” I know my list includes coffee, dark chocolate, red and gold decorations at Christmas, instrumental music (especially violin), and Greek yogurt. So if a day is more challenging than planned, thinking about these things can help calm the seas of my spirit. God is so loving and compassionate, he gives me things that bring me joy, and knowing where all these great things come from allows me opportunity to give glory to God.

Humans are created with great detail and so different. Things that bring me joy may give someone else the gag response. That’s okay. If I insisted that someone love coffee or violin music, that person wouldn’t be enjoying the gift that God has especially made for them. I would be blocking God’s blessing.

Celebrate the differences in our lives by fully enjoying God’s wonderful gifts and giving him all the glory. We can do this together in having respect for each others’ preferences. I imagine heaven is going to be a lot different than we expect, and having a glimpse into what is to come is given in Revelation 7:9, “After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands.”

Prayer: Lord, you are holy, holy, holy. Proclaiming that fact side by side with the brothers and sisters you have placed around me gives me joy. I pray that we may be one in you. Amen

Faith Tip: Today be open to different styles and preferences of others.

Leave a Reply

