What’s on Your List?

Brooklyn Museum - Jesus Goes Up Alone onto a M...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m not asking you to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one. They do not belong to this world any more than I do. Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth. Just as you sent me into the world, I am sending them into the world. And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth. – John 17:15-19

Have you ever wondered what Jesus prayed about when he prays for us? Does he pray for our healing, that we get the new job, that bills are paid or other things that we normally pray about?

In the Gospel of John, it gives a good example of what Jesus wants for us. His focus is on making us holy through the washing of the word of God. Why? Jesus wanted us kept safe from the evil one.

Every day we are faced with worldly temptations that distract us from God. When our eyes are not focused on God, they are focused on something of the world. Being aware of what we put our time and energy in will identify areas that may need to be reconfigured for the glory of God.

Prayer: Jesus, I thank you for praying for me. I pray that your model will be lived out through my life as I pray. Your truth is so valuable. I pray that I mine for this treasure often. Amen

Faith Tip: Compare your prayer for yourself with Jesus’ prayer for you. Consider how this can affect your prayer.

One thought on “What’s on Your List?

Leave a Reply

