Who is My Family?

Christmas lights on Aleksanterinkatu.

Image via Wikipedia

 

Someone told him, “Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you.”

He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?” Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. – Matthew 12:47-49

I love the coming of the holidays with all its festivity, but along with it comes stressors. I know I am not alone in this for I have heard from a multitude of people who struggle through the holiday season for one reason or another. Whether it is a family member who is no longer there, strained relationships, or someone who is far away either physically or spiritually, the holidays seems to wrap a blanker of sadness over what was meant a joyous occasion.

It is a process to journey through these emotions, but there is hope in knowing we are not alone. God has called each of us into a loving family of believers. Accepting that call to be a part of the family is important. Just as the disciples said “yes” to Jesus’ call for them to follow him, we are also encouraged to be part of the kingdom building family.

You may think that the people who are fellow believers are not really blood family, but Jesus said they are more. Could we really treat another believer as a relative? Are we that close?

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for the family you have surrounded me with knowing that each person is of great value. I pray that others may be encouraged by my sisterly love today. Amen

Faith Tip: Look through God’s eyes at the family he has put you in. Be encouraged by the love you have and can show others.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Who is My Family?

Leave a Reply

