Don’t Miss the Feast

hugs

And he told them this parable: “The ground of a certain rich man yielded an abundant harvest. He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’

“Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up

“But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

 “This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.” – Luke 12:16-21

I am so good at talking myself out of doing something I should. I have a young friend who recently lost a close relative. I hadn’t seen her in about a year and wondered if it would matter if I was there. The visitation was quite a distance, my schedule was full, my gas tank low, my dog would be waiting in the kennel and so on. There was also a traffic jam from an accident along the way which added a good chunk of time to the commute. But I was determined to follow God’s leading no matter how misguided I thought it was.

I am so glad I went. I can now see why God wanted me to go. She needed to hear and experience God’s love for her. As we hugged, I thanked God for the opportunity to express love in a real way and feel I would have missed something huge if I had listened to my negative thoughts and didn’t go.

It’s all about focus. If we look at only the peanut butter and jelly of our own circumstances and try to make things better for us, we will miss the feast God has planned for us.

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the opportunities you give me each day to express your love in a real way. I pray that I follow your leading and feast at your table. Amen

Faith Tip: Today when opportunities come up to show God’s love to someone, turn off the negative thoughts of why you shouldn’t and go forth in faith knowing God has set a special place just for you at the table.

Leave a Reply

