Who Gives Temptation?

Dessert

Image by wka via Flickr

Anyone who meets a testing challenge head-on and manages to stick it out is mighty fortunate. For such persons loyally in love with God, the reward is life and more life.

Don’t let anyone under pressure to give in to evil say, “God is trying to trip me up.” God is impervious to evil, and puts evil in no one’s way. The temptation to give in to evil comes from us and only us. We have no one to blame but the leering, seducing flare-up of our own lust. Lust gets pregnant, and has a baby: sin! Sin grows up to adulthood, and becomes a real killer.

So, my very dear friends, don’t get thrown off course. Every desirable and beneficial gift comes out of heaven. The gifts are rivers of light cascading down from the Father of Light. There is nothing deceitful in God, nothing two-faced, nothing fickle. He brought us to life using the true Word, showing us off as the crown of all his creatures. – James 1:12-18 MSG

If I consider all the things that tempt me during the day, the list would be endless for it seems that temptation is always around. I may think that if this food wasn’t in front of me, I wouldn’t be tempted. Maybe I would rather do something else than what I should be doing. A spiritual battle seems to always rage within, especially during busy times, which is always.

As humans, we do want to look for who to blame. Maybe we do think God is testing us so he created this scenario in our lives. God does not give us evil, but only good things. God wants us to succeed in life. While some things are allowed to happen, God has everything we need to help us get through it. God’s plan will always be good for us. Even in the painful times, we will grow for God makes beauty from ashes.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for giving me all I need for today. I do not need to fear the temptations that I will face if I choose to follow you. Amen

Faith Tip: Make the choice now who you will follow today.

Leave a Reply

