Sleeping on the Job

studying & sleeping

Image by mrehan via Flickr

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” – Matthew 26:41

When I was taking classes years ago, I would get so tired at night while studying that I would fall asleep and the books would drop onto the floor from my lap. I would brew a pot of coffee to help me stay awake, but to no avail. I would still fall asleep. I truly wanted to stay awake and gather all the learning from the reading I was to do, but my body was weak and sleep came easy.

We also become weak in our spiritual walk as distractions tempt us away from God. God wants us to watch what he is doing so that we can join in when called. He wants us to pray to continue the building of the relationship learning and knowing his voice so that we can be sure of what we are to do.

We truly want to know God’s will for we want to fulfill our purpose in life and make the right choices. It takes perseverance to continue watching God’s hand at work and to pray continuously. There is also great joy in being able to see the great things God has and will do.

Prayer: Father, thank you for the times you have allowed me to see the awesome moving of your hand. I pray that I will stay strong in prayer and watch with your eyes the responses to these prayers. Amen

Faith Tip: Look and listen carefully today to what God is doing. Do you feel invited to join God in this? By all means, accept the invite and enjoy the adventure.

Leave a Reply

