We win!

Pedicure Day

Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, – Philippians 2:1-3

A few years ago, my name was drawn winning gift certificates as local stores involved in the open house drawing. It was very exciting to receive the phone call. In fact, I wasn’t home and my husband took the message and I didn’t believe him at first. When I realized it was for real, I went to the store to collect the certificates. It would have been fine using the certificates myself, but it was a lot more fun taking friends and family to enjoy them with me. I was blessed with the prizes, and was able to bless others with it, which blessed me. This is a wonderful cycle of blessing.

In the same way, the blessings we receive from Christ would be great for us alone, but it is so much better to share them with others. Because of the special spiritual gifts such as the fruit of the Spirit, we are called to use those gifts to bring others closer to God. Didn’t Jesus put us before himself in going to the cross? Could we mirror that type of love for others? We are equipped to do so; we just need to make the choice.

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for showing me how to value others. I pray that the choices I make today reflect your great love. Amen

Faith Tip: Be intentional today in blessing others.

 

2 thoughts on “We win!

Leave a Reply

