Waking up to worship

Photo courtesy of thetimefinder.com

Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the LORD our Maker; for he is our God and we are the people of his pasture, the flock under his care.

Today, if only you would hear his voice, – Psalm 95:6-7

Many times I wake up in the morning with a “to do” list running through my mind. After going through that list, I wonder if I really want to get up or stayed in the perceived safeness under the covers. Focusing on the list brings a yoke on me that is heavy to carry. I try to schedule my day around the list in hopes that I accomplish a lot.

The number one thing that I need to accomplish on those days is to refocus on God. Waking up with the words of the psalmist not only frees me from the yoke, but actually invigorates me to get up and start my day with the Lord. Beginning and ending the day with a heart of worship will allow for the Holy Spirit to do wonderful things in between.

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the promise of this day that you are in control of it and that you have great things planned. I pray that I can see what you are doing so that I may join you in your kingdom purpose.

Faith Tip: Wake up with a focus on worshiping the Lord. Ask God now where he is working and listen carefully for what he would like you to do.

3 thoughts on “Waking up to worship

  1. Your title caught my eye as I was just thinking, “I am not ready for this day.” (It’s going to be a doozy.) And I had my quiet time this morning, but I suppose I was so worried that I didn’t take time to be comforted. Your message (which is His message) has done that. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

