To be or not to be

Desk

Image by Jim Carson via Flickr

But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one.Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” – Luke 10:40-42

As I make preparations for the conference I will be attending this week with many lovely ladies of the Lord, I find that my “to do” list isn’t shrinking. As soon as I check one item off, another one is there to replace it. This can be quite maddening as I think about all I have to do to be ready. The list includes proposals to be finished, one sheets written, talks practiced, and writing jobs done. I find that anxiety grows as I focus on what I need to do.

The truth is what I need is to “be.” That is a totally different direction of focus. The focus of Jesus is better. “Being” in Jesus will prepare me more than anything I can do.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I thank you for the wisdom of your word that gives peace to the anxious heart. I pray that I can keep my focus on you during this day. Amen

Faith Tip: Take your “to do” list and hand it over to Jesus. See what he can do with it as you watch the Master at work. Enjoy his presence today.

Leave a Reply

