He was and is there

Davis Park, New York

Image via Wikipedia

I was there when he set the heavens in place, 
when he marked out the horizon on the face of the deep,
when he established the clouds above
and fixed securely the fountains of the deep,
when he gave the sea its boundary
so the waters would not overstep his command,
and when he marked out the foundations of the earth.
Then I was constantly at his side.
I was filled with delight day after day,
rejoicing always in his presence,
rejoicing in his whole world
and delighting in mankind. – Proverbs 8:27-31

I look at my desk and wonder how I will get everything done. The piles are getting bigger plus those other calls in life requesting, or maybe demanding, our attention. This fullness in life is more universal than unique. Our focus is on what we need to do rather than who we need to be.

Jesus was there at the beginning of creation and remains active in our lives today. He is a constant. Turning our focus on Jesus doesn’t mean turning a blind eye to the responsibilities we have, but it does mean that we sit in an atmosphere of refreshment rather than being controlled by circumstances. The One who gave the sea its boundary will be able to help us through another day in victory.

Prayer: Jesus, I thank you for your constant presence in my life. I pray that circumstances won’t hinder me from the freedom you have planned for this day for me. Walking with you is the key to freedom. Amen

Faith Tip: Stay constantly at God’s side so that you can be filled with delight and rejoice in him, the world, and mankind.

Leave a Reply

