It is what it is

Conversation

Image by Peter Nijenhuis via Flickr

“If your brother or sister sins, go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. If they listen to you, you have won them over.” – Matthew 18:15

After having a wonderful healthy lunch of salad and soup, I was ready to speak to the crowd. Fortunately, my good friend let me know that I had greenery stuck in my front teeth before I displayed it for all to see. I was able to take care of it before moving on to do ministry.

Sin is like food stuck in our teeth. It’s not very pretty to look at and needs to be taken care of before it is displayed for all to see…or as soon as possible. There is real care and concern shown when a friend goes to that person alone and discusses the sin and shows it to them. Like food in the teeth, it may not be known by the individual that anything is wrong.

Not showing care and concern means gossiping to others about the “sin” you see in them. Look out for that log in your own eye though…it can be painful.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for friends who truly care about me and let me know when something in my life isn’t right. They show their love to me by talking only to me and not to others. I pray that I can return the favor in the right spirit and attitude of Christ Jesus. Amen

Faith Tip: Is there a sin you see in someone’s life? What would be the most loving way that you can talk to them about it? Then do it.

Leave a Reply

