Filling up with compassion

A photo of a modern Dresser Wayne pump at a BP...

Image via Wikipedia

During those days another large crowd gathered. Since they had nothing to eat, Jesus called his disciples to him and said, “I have compassion for these people; they have already been with me three days and have nothing to eat. If I send them home hungry, they will collapse on the way, because some of them have come a long distance” (Mark 8:1-3).

The elderly woman was standing at the gas pump reading the instructions when I pulled in. As I got out of my car to fill it with gas, she came up to me and said, “Could you please help me? You see, my husband just died and I don’t know how to put gas in the car.” Tears started brimming in her eyes. Her life had drastically changed with the death of her husband, and this was one example of having to do things differently. It was a reminder to her that he was gone from this life. Each day would bring that reminder as new tasks would come. She needed compassion.

God has compassion for his people. A call goes out to his disciples to display his compassion as they journey through life. If we refuse to show God’s compassion, we cut off God’s desire to show love to other’s through us. We may think that we would never do that, but as life gets busy and chaotic, we move right by people who need compassion to reach our next goal. God’s goal is to show care for his people. It has always been the people for which God cares.

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the many times you have shown me compassion. I have been blessed with the caring actions of your people that encouraged and strengthened me. I pray that I may “pay it forward” to others who need to experience you compassion. Amen

Faith Tip: During your day, see if God has put someone in your path to show his compassion for them. Be a blessing by showing God’s care.

Leave a Reply

