Jesus gives tough commands

Psalm 34:18 (Clouded Heart)

Image by Lel4nd via Flickr

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” (John 13:34-35).

Jesus gives tough commands. Considering all the people I have come in contact with yesterday, was I loving to each one of them like Jesus would have been? Unfortunately, no, I wasn’t. I showed love to many, but not to all. Why wasn’t I? Human reasons such as tiredness, impatience, past experiences, hunger, and anything else that puts me as the center focus instead of God. I am so thankful for grace. Grace gives me a chance to try again.

Each individual is so special to God. He knows their name and they are not forgotten. If we see people as God sees them, we can take on the command of loving one another better equipped. How do we know how God loves us? By reading his Word and prayer, we can see that God considers us valuable to him, not because of what we can do, but by who we are. We are his.

Prayer: Lord, I do thank you for your grace that I need on a daily basis. You have not given up on me and have loved me forever. I pray that I keep you at the center of my interactions with people and show them love as your ambassador. Amen

Faith Tip: Take notice of each person you come in contact with today. Show them a glimpse of the love of God.

Leave a Reply

